Stay tuned for the release of the NEW coming soon!
Jul 11, 2020

How To Be Gluten-Fee While Dining Out

How To Skip The Gluten At Restaurants

If you’ve been around food in the last few years, you’ve probably heard of gluten. You’ve probably also heard about many people who want to avoid it. Fortunately for restaurant owners, there are many organic dishes that can be made without this substance in order to keep customers happy. And fortunately for diners, Organic Restaurants has all of the info that they need to skip the gluten.

What is Gluten?

Gluten is a mixture of two proteins and a substance commonly found in many grains. It can be found in bread, cereal, and other similar foods. Basically, if it can be found at the bottom of the food pyramid it could potentially contain gluten.

Why People Avoid It

Unfortunately, some people are irritated by the presence of gluten and have adverse reactions to foods that contain it. People with celiac disease can have a variety of reactions to food that contains gluten, and few of them are pleasant. People with this disorder report painful bloating, gas, nausea, and other gastrointestinal issues. So, avoiding gluten entirely is often the best option for people with celiac disease.

Then there are some people who don’t have celiac disease, but prefer to opt for a gluten-free diet. This is a relatively new phenomenon so many studies are still being done on the subject, but some people simply feel better after cutting gluten out.

Make a Meal Gluten Free

As you can see, gluten is found in many items that could be considered dietary staples. Finding ways to avoid gluten used to be a big challenge, but now the symptoms of celiac disease are more well known and gluten-free diets can be considered trendy. As a result, more gluten-free products and substitutions are coming to the market all the time. This makes it easier for home cooks and restaurants to accommodate anyone with an aversion to gluten. Let’s take a look at some common substitutions that can make for some great gluten-free meals.

Flour: Flour can cause issues for people with celiac disease, but fortunately there are many alternatives to traditional flour that have gained in popularity in recent years. There’s potato flour, soy flour, pea flour, and many other types that can easily be used in organic dishes.

Bread: Obviously bread is a major problem for anyone with celiac diseases, but some food companies have noticed and developed their own gluten-free varieties that can be used as substitutions. You can even find gluten-free hamburger buns.

Grains: Some common grains contain gluten, but there are alternatives like quinoa or millet that make for suitable replacements.

Soy Sauce: This one surprises some people. If you have celiac disease, soy sauce is no fun for you. So look for alternatives like tamari. Whether it’s being used as a topping or an ingredient in a recipe, this makes for a fine substitution.

Your Source for Info on Organic Dishes and Restaurants

If you have any more questions about gluten, organic places to eat, or healthy dining choices, check out our website. At Organic Restaurants, we do what we can to cover the latest news and developments in the organic food space, and we’ll do our best to help you make healthy decisions!


Enjoyed this article? You may also like: